Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Harold Arlen Song Book





Product No.:

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

No. of Discs: 2

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

Canada Eligible

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Verve's legendary songbook editions are among Ella Fitzgerald's very best repertoire. The singer, who was stylistically at home in every genre – from jazz, to the evergreens of the Great American Songbooks, to pop songs – is to this day one of the most versatile interpreters of the American vocal scene. Her recording of the Harold Arlen Songbook, made in 1960 and '61, is, along with similar projects with songs by Rodgers and Hart, Cole Porter, George Gershwin and Duke Ellington, the very best of its kind. Harold Arlen discovered his propensity for jazz as a pianist, orchestrator and musical producer of the Cotton Club shows over many years. So it is not surprising that much of what flowed from his pen had a distinct jazz leaning. "Ella is the only vocalist who manages to sing even the most complicated phrases of my songs with poise and lightness," he stated upon completion of the production. The superb big band, along with the brilliant arrangements and conducting of Billy May, provides a perfect backing.

1. Blues In The Night
2. Let's Fall In Love
3. Stormy Weather
4. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
5. My Shining Hour
6. Hooray For Love
7. This Time The Dream's On Me
8. That Old Black Magic
9. I've Got The World On A String
10. Let's Take A Walk Around The Block
11. Ill Wind (You're Blowin' Me No Good)
12. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
13. When The Sun Comes Out
14. Come Rain Or Come Shine
15. As Long As I Live
16. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
17. It's Only A Paper Moon
18. The Man That Got Away
19. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)
20. It Was Written In The Stars
21. Get Happy
22. I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues
23. Out Of This World
24. Over The Rainbow

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it