Marvin Gaye - What's Going On


Universal Records



Product No.:
CUNI 44450
UPC: 600753444504

Blu-ray Audio

Note: Pure Audio

Blu-ray Pure Audio Disc

True High-Resolution 24bit/96k audiophile sound; stereo mix included

Audio mastered from the original tapes, delivered in three formats: DTS-HD Master Audio, Dolby True HD, or PCM. 

Originally released in 1971, What’s Going On is widely considered to be Marvin Gaye’s master work. Rolling Stone named it Album Of The Year when it came out and, in 2003, it was ranked No. 6, the highest for a non-rock album, in Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time. Originally, the title cut was recorded as a single, and Motown chief Berry Gordy refused to release it, citing that it was too personal and political. "What's Going On" became Motown's fastest-selling single at that point, going to the No. 1 spot on the R&B charts for five weeks and No. 2 for three weeks on the Pop listings, which led Gordy to request a full album's worth of material.


1. What's Going On
2. What's Happening Brother
3. Flyin' High (In the Friendly Sky)
4. Save the Children
5. God is Love
6. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
7. Right On
8. Wholy Holy
9. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it