Macklemore & Ryan Lewis - The Heist

 (Gator Skin Deluxe Edition Box )




Hip Hop / Rap

Product No.:
AMAK 17319
UPC: 707541731997
Back Ordered

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 2
Note: 180 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

2014 Grammy Awards:

Best New Artist
Best Rap Performance
Best Rap Song
Best Rap Album

  • Deluxe double black vinyl LP plus MP3
  • Gold embossed 'gator skin' box cover
  • Custom 'gator skin' textured LP dust sleeves
  • Nineteen 12” x 12” Song Artwork Inserts
  • Album artwork by 13 unique collaborators / visual artists 
  • Download Card & LP Include The Full Album Plus 3 Bonus Tracks 
  • Gold Tissue Paper Insert

The debut release for Seattle rapper Macklemore and producer Ryan Lewis features such guests as Ab-Soul, Ben Bridwell of Band of Horses, ScHoolboy Q, and Allen Stone.

"Every rapper, no matter their background, has a unique story to tell. Yet, most choose to disclose little, if anything, that directly displays their individuality. Macklemore does the opposite. Sure, chunks of his story, within itself, deviate from what hip-hop is used to; the tale of a White kid from the Pacific Northwest who has battled addiction is new to the music in and of itself. But it's his willingness to illuminate those very tales and characteristics that makes The Heist, his smash debut album with producer Ryan Lewis, such a refreshing effort.

"Macklemore attacks an array of subjects that ultimately fit smoothly together thanks to their authenticity and Lewis' intricate, tone-setting production throughout. On 'Wings,' the MC contrasts his love for Air Jordans with the pitfalls of a culture of materialism, over a gloomy, horn and key-driven slow-building beat from Lewis, anchored with a hook from a chorus of children. With 'Same Love,' Lewis provides bright and uplifting instrumentation to perfectly reflect Macklemore's forward-thinking analysis of hip-hop and society's take on homosexuality and same sex marriage. 'Thrift Shop' is a funky homage to the 2012 XXL Freshman's preferred place of shopping. The Ab-Soul-assisted 'Jimmy Iovine' is a futuristic-sounding fictional tale of pulling a heist to secure a major-label deal, before realizing it's not all it's cracked up to be ('Rather be a starving artist than succeed at getting fucked,' he concludes).

"It’s these sort of astute observations on the human condition and keen self-awareness that set this effort apart. That reality, coupled with Ryan Lewis’ vast, daring and layered production, makes The Heist a truly beautiful album that challenges musical boundaries." — XXL, October 2012







1. Ten Thousand Hours
2. Can’t Hold Us (feat. Ray Dalton)
3. Thrift Shop (feat. Wanz)
4. Thin Line (feat. Buffalo Madonna)
5. Same Love (feat. Mary Lambert)
6. Make The Money
7. Neon Cathedral (feat. Allen Stone)
8. BomBom (feat. The Teaching)
9. White Walls (feat. Schoolboy Q, Hollis)
10. Jimmy Iovine (feat. Ab-Soul)
11. Wing$
12. A Wake (feat. Evan Roman)
13. Gold (feat. Eighty4 Fly)
14. Starting Over (feat. Ben Bridwell of Band of Horses)
15. Cowboy Boots
16. Castle
17. My Oh My
18. Victory Lap

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it