Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

David Chesky - The New York Rags





Product No.:
CCRJ 359
UPC: 090368035967
Limited Stock



or Add to Wishlist

"Never has a title been more apropos — The New York Rags. David Chesky composed this suite of 18 sumptuous rags performed on a Yamaha DCFX Mark IV Disklavier Pro concert grand piano and as he tells us in the liner notes, 'You're living in New York City ... art reflects time and culture. So you take what's around you and you write. And in the end, is it symphonic? Is it jazz? It's a crossover. The way American music should be, like how Bernstein or Gershwin did it.' The pace of Chesky's New York Rags is, for the most part, frenetic and mimics life in the big city with its many touches of spice and flavors from other times and places. I immediately heard traces of Conlon Nancarrow, Gershwin, Bernstein, and Joplin with the skeletal structure of the Second Viennese School barely containing the jaunt and roll. Nice." — Michael Lavorgna,

1. The New Yorker
2. The Bernstein
3. The Duke
4. Times Square
5. Fourth Street
6. Third Avenue
7. Broadway Boogie Woogie
8. Fifth Avenue
9. Grand Central Morning
10. Seventh Avenue
11. The Circle at Fifth
12. The Park Avenue Rag
13. The Thanksgiving Day Parade Rag in 7/4
14. Kids You’re Late for School Rag
15. The Manhattan Blues Variations Rag
16. Penn Station
17. The J Walker Rag
18. The Coney Island Rag

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it