John Doe - A Year In The Wilderness

 (+ Download Code)


Yep Roc Records



Product No.:
AYEP 2141
UPC: 634457214118
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl includes code to download entire album and eight solo demos!

Featuring Dave Alvin, Kathleen Edwards and Aimee Mann on "The Golden State" and "A Case of You"

John Doe is back again. As a founding member of punk monoliths X, he seized his rightful place as one of the most influential musicians in American alternative music in the 1980s, clearing a path for the revolution in that genre that would take place a decade later. Since launching his solo career in 1990 with the dusty road-poetry of Meet John Doe, John has produced six stunning roots rock albums of frightening honesty and vision. A Year in the Wilderness is no exception. 

This time around John has invited his friends and frequent conspirators to help him interpret songs that came fast and hard. Doe dubs the Wilderness sessions "a scary and wondrous process" where a blast of intuition and force that takes only moments to realize can last forever and carry consequences you never imagined. Guest stars appearing on A Year in the Wilderness include Dave Alvin, Jill Sobule, Kathleen Edwards, Dan Auerbach (from The Black Keys), Greg Leisz and Aimee Mann.

Side 1
The Wilderness
The Golden State
There's A Hole
A Little More Time
Big Moon
Grain Of Salt

Side 2
The Bridge Interlude
Hotel Ghost
Darling Underdog
Lean Out Yr Window
Meanest Man In The World

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it