Blind Willie McTell - Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order

 (Volume 1)


Third Man Records



Product No.:
ATMR 155
UPC: 858936003400
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
Volume 3

180 Gram Vinyl Record
Volume 4


Third Man Records is announcing the release of the first three records in its highly-anticipated Document Records reissue series. Volume 1 of The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order of Charley PattonBlind Willie McTell and The Mississippi Sheiks

Subsequent volumes will be released regularly and new artists will be slotted for release from this fantastic catalog of blues greats as soon as this first series is complete.

"...and no one can sing the blues like Blind Willie McTell." So sang Bob Dylan, on his 1983 song, "Blind Willie McTell," thereby illuminating a legend hat had retained an enigmatic ghostlike presence in the shadows of blues history since the middle of the 20th century. He was born William Samuel McTier at the turn of the 20th century, in small-town Thompson, Georgia. Throughout decades he's influenced a plethora of artists, and his finger style guitar and ragtime vocals gave him his unique appeal. McTell's first recording session was in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1927. It's claimed that Blind Lemon Jefferson, recording in the same city that year, persuaded McTell to adopt a 12-string guitar, the instrument which he used throughout his career. 

The recordings being presented in this reissue series are the building blocks and DNA of American culture. Blues, R&B, Elvis, teenagerism, punk rock... it all goes back to these vital, breathtaking recordings. Third Man Records is proud to present these landmark albums in conjunction with Document Records, with brand new, jaw-dropping artwork by Rob Jones and new insightful liner notes, on vinyl for the first time in decades. Every record collection should have ample room for these highly important and endlessly listenable albums.


Side 1
1. Writin' Paper Blues
2. Stole Rider Blues
3. Mama, Tain’t Long Fo’ Day
4. Mr. McTell Got The Blues (tk. 1)
5. Mr. McTell Got The Blues (tk 2)
6. Three Women Blues
7. Dark Night Blues
8. Statesboro Blues

Side 2
1. Loving Talking Blues
2. Atlanta Strut
3. Travelin' Blues
4. Come On Around To My House Mama
5. Kind Mama
6. Drive Away Blues
7. Love Changing Blues

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Sourced from Analog Tapes

posted on 04/05/2013
5 Stars
Reviewer: atomlow
This release is fantastic and for how old the recordings are it sounds great. I called Third Man Records and they told me it was sourced from analog tapes they received from England.

I will be buying more of these as they are released. Jack White does it again. A great pressing for a reasonable price, puts a smile on my face. I also love the message on the label that states "made from vinyl MAY WARP - COULD BREAK"

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.