Viktoria Mullova - Works For Solo Violin


Analogphonic (Decca)



Product No.:
ADEC 41019
EAN: 8808678134322
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Cut to lacquer by Maarten de Boer at Emil Berliner Studios

Imported double 180-gram Analogphonic LP pressed at Pallas in Germany

Acclaimed Russian violinist Viktoria Mullova who the Chicago Tribune declared, "may be the most elegant, refined and sweetly expressive violinist on the planet," performs compositional works by Bartok (Sonata for Solo Violin), Bach (Partita No.1 in B minor) and Paganini (Introduction And Variations).

Viktoria Mullova studied at the Central Music School of Moscow and the Moscow Conservatoire. Her extraordinary talent captured international attention when she won first prize at the 1980 Sibelius Competition in Helsinki and the Gold Medal at the Tchaikovsky Competition in 1982 which was followed, in 1983, by her dramatic and much publicized defection to the West.

She has since appeared with most of the world's greatest orchestras and conductors and at the major international festivals. She is now known the world over as a violinist of exceptional versatility and musical integrity. Her curiosity spans the breadth of musical development from baroque and classical right up to the most contemporary influences from the world of fusion and experimental music.

Mullova's extensive discography for Philips Classics has attracted many prestigious awards. Her recording of the Vivaldi Concertos with Il Giardino Armonico and directed by Giovanni Antonini, won the Diapason D'Or of the Year award for 2005 and her most recent release, featuring Beethoven's Op 12 No 3 and Kreutzer Sonatas with fortepianist, Kristian Bezuidenhout has won immense critical acclaim. Other discs have included the Schubert Octet with the Mullova Ensemble, "Recital" with Katia Labèque, Bach Sonatas with Ottavio Dantone and "6 Solo Sonatas and Partitas" by JS Bach.

- Bach / Bartok / Paganini (composer)
- Viktoria Mullova (violin)




Bela Bartok
Sonata for solo violin
1. Tempo di ciaccona
2. Fuga
3. Melodia
4. Presto
Johann Sebastian Bach
Partita No.1 in B minor
1. Allemanda
2. Double
3. Corrente
4. Double (Presto)
5. Sarabande
6. Double
7. Tempo di borea
8. Double
Niccolo Paganini (1782 - 1840)
Introduction And Variations
1. Capriccio
2. Tema (Andante)
3. Variation 1 (Brillante)
4. Variation 2
5. Variation 3 (Piu Lento)
6. Variation 4 (Allegro)
7. Variation 5
8. Variation 6 (Appassionato)
9. Variation 7 (Vivace)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it