Big Brother & The Holding Company - Cheap Thrills

 (Mono - Numbered)

180-gram vinyl, pressed by RTI

Sourced from the original mono master tape

Meticulously recreated from the original art; individually numbered

180-gram mono-edition vinyl LP pressing from Legacy of the rare original mono pressing of this 1968 album. Cheap Thrills was the last album Janis Joplin recorded with the band before going solo. The album was released in the summer of 1968, one year after their debut album, and reached No. 1 on the Billboard charts in its eighth week in October. It kept the No. 1 spot for eight (nonconsecutive) weeks while the single, "Piece of My Heart", also became a huge hit. By the end of the year it was the most successful album of 1968, having sold nearly a million copies.



1. Combination of the Two
2. I Need A Man to Love
3. Summertime
4. Piece Of My Heart
5. Turtle Blues
6. Oh, Sweet Mary
7. Ball And Chain

Customer Reviews (4.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

Stellar pressing!

posted on 01/20/2013
5 Stars
Reviewer: Ross
RTI and Legacy did a fantastic job with this pressing! I have always wanted to hear the monaural version of this album, and I'm grateful that Legacy has released it on vinyl. From what I have read, the mono master was a fold-down from the stereo master, so there really is little difference between the stereo and mono versions. I personally don't hear differences in the two, but this pressing is so good that it far surpasses the original stereo vinyl and CD versions I have!

Why mono?

posted on 12/15/2012
3 Stars
This recording has such great stereo hall ambience that I can't imagine what the attraction of a mono edition would be other than collectibility. I mean c'mon, by 1968 we were pretty much out of the mono era so just what is the point??

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.