Otis Redding and Carla Thomas - King & Queen





Product No.:
ASUN 5069
UPC: 090771506917
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
Preowned Vinyl Record
1972 Japanese Pressing W/O Obi/ Canada Collection

Otis Redding never recorded a lighter, more purely entertaining record than King and Queen, a collection of duets with Stax labelmate Carla Thomas. In all likelihood inspired by a series of popular duets recorded by Marvin Gaye - indeed, "It Takes Two," and Gaye's sublime collaboration with Kim Weston, is covered here - the record serves no greater purpose than to allow Redding the chance to run through some of the era's biggest soul hits, including "Knock on Wood," "Tell It Like It Is" and "When Something Is Wring with My Baby," and while clearly not a personal triumph on a par with either Otis Blue or The Dictionary of Soul, the set is still hugely successful on its own terms. Redding and Thomas enjoy an undeniable chemistry, and they play off each other wonderfully: while sparks fly furiously throughout King and Queen, the album's highlight is the classic "Tramp," where their battle of the sexes reaches its fever pitch in supremely witty fashion.

1. Knock on Wood
2. Let Me Be Good To You
3. Tramp
4. Tell It Like It Is
5. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
6. Lovey Dovey
7. New Year's Resolution
8. It Takes Two
9. Are You Lonely For Me Baby
10. Bring It On Home To Me
11. Ooh Carla, Ooh Otis

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it