Eric Clapton - Slowhand - 35th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition

 (LP, DVDA & 3CD)





Product No.:
APLD 5340725
UPC: 600753407257
Limited Stock

Multi-Format Box Sets

No. of Discs: 5


or Add to Wishlist

Slowhand, the 35th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition Box Set, featuring two Clapton smashes: "Wonderful Tonight," and "Cocaine"

CDs, audio-only DVD, and a heavyweight LP remastered album

Extras include replica tour programs, plus book detailing behind the scenes at the recording sessions

Legendary guitarist Eric Clapton's 1977 album triumph Slowhand is being released as a super deluxe edition box set this holiday season to celebrate its 35th anniversary.

The super deluxe edition box set includes two CDs devoted to presenting Clapton and his band's complete 14-track performance at London's Hammersmith Odeon theater on April 27, 1977, a week before recording sessions for the album began. Songs featured at the Hammersmith Odeon show include "Tell The Truth," "Knocking On Heaven's Door," "Can't Find My Way Home," "Stormy Monday," "Badge," "I Shot The Sheriff" and "Layla."

The remaining CD includes the original nine album tracks remastered from the original Olympic Studios 1/4-inch analog master tapes plus four bonus songs. The songs are Slowhand session outtakes (three of them previously unreleased) "Looking At The Rain," "Alberta," "Greyhound Bus" and "Stars, Strays and Ashtrays."

The included audio-only DVD offers the album in 5.1 surround sound (not hi-res) and a hi-res stereo version.

Lastly, included with the super deluxe edition is an LP version of the remastered album, three replica tour programs from the period and a book featuring a behind-the-scenes look at the recording.

Slowhand features "Wonderful Tonight," "Lay Down Sally" and "Cocaine" — songs that are still heard regularly on radio and at Eric Clapton's live shows. That they're played so long after its release is a great recommendation and testimony to the album's place in Clapton's canon. The album includes cover versions of songs written by some of his favorite songwriters (JJ Cale, John Martyn, Don Williams, Arthur Crudup) along with original compositions by Eric Clapton.

Slowhand was recorded at Olympic Studios in South West London in May 1977 and was produced by Glyn Johns. Released in November 1977, Slowhand was the most successful album of Clapton's 70s studio recordings. It reached No.2 on the Billboard chart, where it stayed for five weeks, spending a total of 74 weeks on the American album chart.


Disc 1: Slowhand (Remastered and Expanded)
1. Cocaine
2. Wonderful Tonight
3. Lay Down Sally
4. Next Time You See Her
5. We’re All the Way
6. The Core
7. May You Never
8. Mean Old Frisco
9. Peaches and Diesel
Bonus Tracks
10. Looking at the Rain *previously unreleased
11. Alberta
12. Greyhound Bus *previously unreleased
13. Stars, Strays and Ashtrays *previously unreleased

Disc 2: Slowhand (Hi-res Stereo and 5.1 Surround Sound DVD Audio)
1. Cocaine
2.Wonderful Tonight
3. Lay Down Sally
4. Next Time You See Her
5. We’re All the Way
6. The Core
7. May You Never
8. Mean Old Frisco
9. Peaches and Diesel

Disc 3: Live at Hammersmith Odeon, April 27, 1977
1. Hello Old Friend *previously unreleased
2. Sign Language *previously unreleased
3. Alberta *previously unreleased
4. Tell the Truth
5. Knocking on Heaven’s Door
6. Steady Rolling Man *previously unreleased
7. Can’t Find My Way Home *previously unreleased
8. Further On Up the Road
9. Stormy Monday

Disc 4: Live At Hammersmith Odeon, April 27, 1977 continued
1. Badge *previously unreleased
2. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out *previously unreleased
3. I Shot the Sherriff *previously unreleased
4. Layla *previously unreleased
5. Key to the Highway *previously unreleased

Disc 5: Slowhand – Vinyl LP
Side 1
1. Cocaine
2. Wonderful Tonight
3. Lay Down Sally
4. Next Time You See Her
5. We’re All the Way
Side 2
1. The Core
2. May You Never
3. Mean Old Frisco
4. Peaches and Diesel

Customer Reviews (1.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

HORRIBLE PACKAGING!!! Do not pay $100 for this!!

posted on 12/21/2012
1 Stars
Reviewer: JeffersonDD
This product cannot be opened without DESTROYING the packaging. Once destroyed the CD's and especially the DVD-A sound great; better imaging and soundstage than the original. The LP is inferior to the late 70's MFSL pressing though. So buy the DVD-A and a MFSL on Ebay and you're golden. Stay away from this box though!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.