Tift Merritt - Traveling Alone

 (+ Download Code)


Yep Roc Records



Product No.:
AYEP 2291
UPC: 634457229112
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.

180 Gram LP

Featuring "To Myself" and "Sweet Spot"

180-gram double vinyl

Includes download code for bonus tracks and full album

"Tift Merritt is working in the tradition of Joni Mitchell ... and Leonard Cohen." — The Wall Street Journal

Tift' Merritt's new album and debut on the Yep Roc label Traveling Alone was recorded in Brooklyn with Tucker Martine (The Decemberists, My Morning Jacket, Spoon) and features a guest appearance by Andrew Bird and well as performances by Marc Ribot, Rob Burger (Lucinda Williams, Iron & Wine, Rufus Wainwright), John Convertino (Calexico), Eric Heywood (The Jayhawks, Son Volt, Alejandro Escovedo) and Merritt's longtime collaborator Jay Brown.

"To make a record that was raw and real and live off the floor — it was really a dream for me to do that with such an amazing cast," Merritt says. "I'm also awfully excited to take it on home to Yep Roc. It feels like family to have this record cared for and coming to you from North Carolina. I can't wait to get back out on the road with these new songs and my lovely musical family."

The New York Times says: "... if Ms. Merritt can still sound a bit distractingly like a child of Emmylou Harris, she widens the frame of reference here: 'Drifting Apart' has the chord progression of a Roy Orbison tune, and a vocal harmony to match, sung by Andrew Bird; 'To Myself' has a verse cadence that evokes Bruce Springsteen's 'Dancing in the Dark.' But the depth and clarity of Ms. Merritt's singing make these songs feel properly lived in."

1. Traveling Alone
2. Sweet Spot
3. Drifted Apart
4. Still Not Home
5. Feeling of Beauty
6. Too Soon to Go
7. Small Talk Relations
8. Spring
9. To Myself
10. In the Way
11. Marks

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it