Johnny Cash - At Folsom Prison





Product No.:
ASUNQ 5361
UPC: 090771536112

140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record


Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Also available on:
FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Sundazed presents Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison, now on heavyweight vinyl, pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Sourced from the original masters, original artwork meticulously reproduced

Johnny Cash's five-decade musical career was loaded with bigger-than-life landmark moments. None were more memorable than the Man in Black's historic concerts at Folsom Prison and San Quentin State Prison, and the beloved albums that documented those shows. Cash's passion for prison reform and rehabilitation inspired him to perform a series of concerts for inmate audiences, and two of these unique events were documented on Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison and Johnny Cash at San Quentin. These albums, originally released in 1968 and 1969 respectively, remain among Cash's best-selling and best-loved recordings. At the time of their original release, they revitalized his career, and played a crucial role in his crossover from the country music world to the mainstream pop charts.

Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison fully captures Cash's gritty intensity and hard-headed humanity, capturing a high-energy set performed for an equally spirited audience. With a set list tailored for the occasion, Cash focuses on songs dealing with crime and imprisonment, balancing dark subject matter with wry, playful humor. The album opens, appropriately enough, with the venerable "Folsom Prison Blues," and continues with such outlaw anthems as "Cocaine Blues," "25 Minutes to Go, "The Wall" and "I Got Stripes," alongside such Cash classics as "I Still Miss Someone," "Orange Blossom Special" and "Jackson," with the latter track featuring Cash's wife and frequent duet partner June Carter. The album closes on an inspirational note with "Greystone Chapel," a song written by convict Glen Shirley, which Cash and his band learned especially for this show.

As part of Sundazed's ongoing mission to present classic LPs in all their original sonic and visual glory, these timeless examples of Johnny Cash's individuality and artistry are pressed on heavyweight vinyl. They've been mastered from the original stereo tapes, with exact reproductions of the albums' iconic original cover art.



1. Folsom Prison Blues
2. Dark as the Dungeon
3. I Still Miss Someone
4. Cocaine Blues
5. 25 Minutes to Go
6. Orange Blossom Special
7. The Long Black Veil
8. Send a Picture of Mother
9. The Wall
10. Dirty Old Egg-Sucking Dog
11. Flushed From the Bathroom of Your Heart
12. Jackson (With June Carter)
13. Give My Love to Rose (With June Carter)
14. I Got Stripes
15. Green, Green Grass of Home
16. Greystone Chapel

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Thank You QRP

posted on 11/10/2012
5 Stars
Reviewer: Andy
This is by far the best sounding pressing of this album I have ever heard. If you need "at folsom prison" for your collection, this is the one to get. Sounds great. Hopefully we can expect more cash from QRP.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.