Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Anonymous 4 - 11,000 Virgins

Anonymous 4 - 11,000 Virgins


Harmonia Mundi


New Age

Product No.:
CHAR 907200
UPC: 093046720025


The radiant music of Abbess Hildegard of Bingen, twelfth-century poet-composer, prophet and mystic, herbalist and healer, came to her in visions and was no doubt intended to be sung by the nuns of her convent. Her rhapsodic chants inspired by the legend of St. Ursula and the Eleven Thousand Virgins are full of imagery, weaving a hypnotic web of sound. Anonymous 4, who sings with "an ethreal clarity that is absolutely captivating", are the ideal interpreters of this music. "Anonymous 4 has produced one of the finest Hildegard programs ever made. The voices are simply perfect for music" says Fanfare.

1. Antiphon Auctori vite psalmis
2. Symphonia Virginum: O dulcissine amator
3. Hymn: Jesu corona virginum
4. Responsory: Spiritui Sancto
5. Versicle: Specia tua
6. Responsory: Favus distillans
7. Benedicamus domino
8. Antiphon: Studium divinitatis
9. Psalm 92: Dominus regnavit/Studium divinitatis
10. Sequence: O Ecclesia
11. Benedicamus Domino
12. Chapter: Domine Deus mews
13. Brief responsory: Mirabilis deus
14. Hymn: Cum vox sanguinis
15. Antiphon: O rubor sangunis
16. Canticle: Magnificat anima mea/O rubor sanguinis
17. Hymn: Te lucis ante terminum
18. Benedicamus domino

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it