Holly Cole - Temptation

Holly Cole - Temptation


Analogue Productions


Female Vocalists

Product No.:
UPC: 753088004865

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Mastered from the original analog tapes by Kevin Gray.

"...Kevin Gray has remastered the recording at Coherent Audio for a new 2-channel SACD/CD (Analogue Productions CAPP 049 SA), and the music now flows more effortlessly because Gray has given it more room to stretch out. ... Pitch's bass in the opening of "I Can See Clearly Now" is more commanding on the SACD's DSD tracks: I can now hear the vibration of the strings. ... Cole's voice is farther out into the room, and the touch of reverb added to it is clearer, which gives it more body." -- Joseph Taylor, SoundStage Hi-Fi, November 2012. Read the rest of Taylor's review here.

Over the past decade, new talents such as Cassandra Wilson, Patricia Barber and Holly Cole have redefined the world of female jazz vocals. Cole's Temptation, a 1995 Blue Note release, is her musical tribute to the writings of Tom Waits. Besides being a superb audiophile recording (perfect in every production detail, from the rendering of Cole's amazing voice to the incredibly natural sound captured by producer Craig Street's team), this album has garnered kudos for her interpretation of Waits' unique compositions.

Standout tracks include a catchy version of "Jersey Girl," which made it onto a number of radio playlists, and a rendition of "The Briar and the Rose," augmented by the Canadian Brass. Also included are "Take Me Home," "Train Song," "Temptation," "Falling Down," "Invitation to the Blues," "Frank's Theme," "Little Boy Blue," "I Don't Wanna Grow Up," "Tango 'til They're Sore," "The Heart of Saturday Night," "Soldier's Things," "I Want You" and "Good Old World."

1. Take Me Home
2. Train Song
3. Jersey Girl
4. Temptation
5. Falling Down
6. Invitation To The Blues
7. Cinny's Waltz
8. Frank's Theme
9. Little Boy Blue
10. I Don't Wanna Grow Up
11. Tango Till They're Sore
12. (Looking For) The Heart Of Saturday Night
13. Soldiers Things
14. I Want You
15. Good Old World
16. The Briar And The Rose
17. (Looking For) The Heart Of Saturday Night (Alternate Take)* bonus track
18. Shiver Me Timbers * bonus track
19. The Last Rose Of Summer * bonus track

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 3 person(s) rated this product.

this is the greatest CD/SACD I have ever heard

posted on 02/07/2013
5 Stars
Reviewer: cosmo
The sound quality is superb The performance is out of this world Every single song is a masterpiece This is simply the finest effort I have had the pleasure to listen to. (I own more than 200 carefully chosen CD/SACDs)

After hearing this disc I have downgraded every other 5 star disc to 4 stars.


posted on 07/30/2012
5 Stars
Reviewer: Ed Hilston
This album sounds great! Holly Cole's Don't Smoke in Bed is a great album to but this one sounds far superior. The playing is very good as is the sound selection but the sound quality is superior to 98% of what I own. It is very highly recommended.

A reference disc

posted on 07/24/2012
5 Stars
This is my new standard reference disc. This music and vocal style may not be for everyone. Holly uses her voice like an instrument. Slow deliberate jazz style blues with terrific bass and keyboard backup. The sound quality is superb.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.