Kelly Hogan - I Like To Keep Myself In Pain

 (+ CD)





Product No.:
AANT 87164
UPC: 045778716418
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Includes free CD of the entire album

Kelly Hogan's new solo album I Like To Keep Myself In Pain showcases the Georgia native as a supremely talented and multi-faceted singer profoundly respected within the music world. She was recently touted "a national treasure" by colleague, friend and former Chicago neighbor, Andrew Bird.

On her new album Hogan curates an ambitious and moving labor of love, mining the perfect intersection between classic pop, country and soul. She utilizes her incredible voice to interpret compositions penned for her by musical luminaries including M. Ward, Vic Chesnutt, Magnetic Fields, the Mekons' Jon Langford, the Handsome Family, Bird, Freakwater's Catherine Irwin, John Wesley Harding, Robbie Fulks, Gabriel Roth and Robyn Hitchcock.

She is backed on the album by an absolutely all-star band consisting of R&B legends Booker T. Jones and James Gadson (Bill Withers, Beck) as well as talented young lions Gabe Roth (of Daptone Records, the Dap-Kings) and Scott Ligon.

Pitchfork has just premiered the song "We Can't Have Nice Things" written for Hogan by Jack Pendarvis and Andrew Bird. It is a contemplative and soulful track which periodically swells into an unforgettable Burt Bacharach-like pop crescendo.


1. Dusty Groove
2. We Can't Have Nice Things
3. I Like To Keep Myself In Pain
4. Haunted
5. Daddy's Little Girl
6. Golden
7. Ways Of This World
8. Slumber's Sympathy
9. Plant White Roses
10. Sleeper Awake
11. The Green Willow Valley
12. Whenever You're Out Of My Sight
13. Pass On By

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it