Soja - Strength To Survive

 (2LP + CD + Bonus Track Download Code)


ATO Records



Product No.:
AATO 217811
UPC: 880882178116

Vinyl Record & CD

No. of Discs: 3
Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

SOJA's fourth studio album is also its first for ATO Records, the label co-founded by Dave Matthews. Singer/guitarist Jacob Hemphill cites Bob Marley's Survival as the main influence for the songs on Strength to Survive. He first heard Marley's 1979 album when his family was living in the West African country of Liberia. Then a coup began; he and his parents had to hide from the military in abandoned iron bathtubs for three days. This experience, he says, shaped his life and his music. Here, some lightly funky keyboard playing and a traditional-sounding horn section kick off the lead track, "Mentality." It's a festive blend of roots reggae stripped down and rebuilt with jam-rock accoutrements and Hemphill's topical musings on a world on the brink of self-destruction. The title track balances chilled-out rhythms with more urgent lyrics calling for our planet's inhabitants to consume less while gathering the fortitude for persevering in a weary world. The band lightens the load with the mellow Lovers Rock jams "Don't Worry" and "Tell Me."

1. Mentality
2. Strength To Survive
3. Everything Changes
4. Don't Worry
5. Tell Me
6. It's Not Too Late
7. Gone Today
8. Let You Go
9. Not Done Yet
10. Slow Down
11. Be With Me Now
12. When We Were Younger
13. Gone Today (Acoustic 2010)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it