Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Ray Charles - Genius + Soul = Jazz


Analogue Productions



Product No.:
UPC: 753088000270

200 Gram Vinyl Record

200 Gram LP  

Sorry, this Product is no longer available. Please check out the alternatives below.

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
Hybrid Stereo SACD

Legendary Rudy Van Gelder Recording
Cut From The Original Analog Masters - Tape Boxes Included Notes In Braille

This is the second title in the Impulse catalog.

Ray Charles was best known for his work in the idioms of R&B, rock 'n' roll and even successful forays into country. But he also recorded influential jazz albums, including the groundbreaking Genius + Soul = Jazz originally released in 1961. Recorded at the Van Gelder Studios in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, in late 1960, Genius + Soul = Jazz was produced by Creed Taylor and includes arrangements by Quincy Jones and Ralph Burns. Ray Charles played the organ with three vocals ("I've Got News For You," "I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town" and "One Mint Julep") and band members included members of the Count Basie Orchestra: Thad Jones, Joe Newman, Billy Mitchell, Frank Wess, Freddie Green and Sonny Payne among others.

The record ascended to the No. 4 spot on Billboard's pop album chart and spawned the very first singles on Impulse. "I've Got News For You" rose to No. 8 R&B and No. 66 on the Hot 100. In addition, Charles' version of "One Mint Julep" charted No. 1 R&B and No. 8 pop and his rendition of the blues standard "I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town" reached No. 25 R&B and No. 84 pop.

Although Basie himself does not appear on the album, the Count was a major model as Charles assembled a full-scale, working orchestra. Basie also influenced his use of organ in a jazz context, and Charles was happy to record at the Van Gelder studio, where Jimmy Smith had recorded his classic Blue Note albums. Truly, as Dick Katz wrote in his original January 1961 liner notes, "The combination here of rare talent plus uncommon craftsmanship has produced a record that showcases the timeless quality an innate taste that is uniquely that of Ray Charles."


1. From The Heart
2. I've Got News For You
3. Moanin'
4. Let's Go
5. One Mint Julep
6. I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
7. Stompin' Room Only
8. Mister C
9. Strike Up The Band
10. Birth Of The Blues

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 3 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 01/27/2017
5 Stars
Reviewer: Paolo
A top LP. Great sound, fantastic realism and transparency on this one. The notes of the organ are almost palpable. All in all a treat.

A Terrific Improvement To A GREAT Record

posted on 12/22/2015
5 Stars
Reviewer: AnalogJ
I'm a fan of both big band music and of Brother Ray. I have loved this album for a long time, and have an original Impulse mono and stereo. This album has Ray Charles playing (and singing a few) with the Count Basie Orchestra minus the Count himself.

This AP blows away my originals. It doesn't, unfortunately, ameloriate the bit vocal distortion that exists in the original, but there is so much more bloom, depth and swagger to this copy. Dead quiet surfaces and a dead center pressing make this one a homerun.

Congrats to Ryan Smith, Kevin Gray (done at Coherent), and Chad for this.


posted on 05/25/2012
5 Stars
Reviewer: Arturo Castaneda.
Impeccable pressing, absolutely quiet surface, my warmest congratulations for the quality of this record. I'm not going to make the dumb mistake to try to review the Ray Charles performance, it needs no comments.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.