ZZ Top - Rio Grande Mud





Product No.:
ARHI 525347
UPC: 081227979416
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

By its second release, 1972's Rio Grande Mud, ZZ Top was honing the blues rock hybrid that would make it a certified U.S. arena headliner by the mid-'70s. While the album didn't spawn the big radio hits of its later releases such as "La Grange" and "Tush," Rio Grande Mud was another incredibly consistent and inspired ZZ Top classic.

1. Francene
2. Just Got Paid
3. Mushmouth Shoutin'
4. Ko Ko Blue
5. Chevrolet
6. Apologies To Pearly
7. Bar-B-Q
8. Sure Got Cold After The Rain Fell
9. Whiskey'n Mama
10. Down Brownie

Customer Reviews (4.67 Stars) 3 person(s) rated this product.

Not A Reference, But...

posted on 05/30/2011
4 Stars
Reviewer: audiofan
Because of its age, this is probably not gonna be one of those mind-blowing "reference" recordings you pull out to show the doubters about analog's superior qualities (even though it certainly will). But this "4.5-star" reissue sounds great, the best I've heard. There's greater clarity & detail, with instruments standing apart from one another in real space. The drums and cymbals are organic-sounding and the vocals are more "there". Lets face it, analog is just more "real", end of story. Throw rocks if you must, but I believe this was ZZ's artistic peak, before they lost their way with fuzzy guitars and cheap sunglasses. "Rio Grande Mud" DOES sound pretty nice; no compact disc can hope to compare with this LP (unless you're listening on your daddy's boom-box, and in that case, you don't care anyway), and, like the Door's "Absolutely Live" album, a quiet & well-mastered (for live) title, this now makes two home runs for Rhino. Well done!

Rio Grand Mud

posted on 03/02/2011
5 Stars
Reviewer: John
You can't go wrong here. Rio Grande Mud, as it should sound,no overdubs or drum machines. Excellent! Now, where is ZZ Tops First Album.

best version ever heard

posted on 02/25/2011
5 Stars
Reviewer: Michael
I have a few of these RTI releases, but this one catches me from the first notes on. It's simply the best version of this record I heard so far.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.