Pretenders - Pretenders


Audio Fidelity



Product No.:
UPC: 780014205225

Gold CD

CD Gold

Mastered by Steve Hoffman

The Pretenders' first LP is one of the single greatest debut albums ever released in early 1980, Pretenders shot straight to No. 1 on the UK Albums Chart and stayed there for four consecutive weeks. It also made it into the U.S. Top 10. A macho guy band, fronted by a woman, no less, Chrissie Hynde has the perfect balance of rage and sensitivity. With her trademark dark bangs, dark eyeliner and dark jeans, she appealed to both genders. The album features Chrissie's signature vocal styling, James Honeyman-Scott's melodic and uniquely inventive guitar work, great songwriting and a pulsating backbeat supplied by the rhythm section of Peter Farndon and Martin Chambers. This album compiles several previously released tracks from their 1979 singles, "Stop Your Sobbing," written in 1964 by Ray Davies for The Kinks and produced by Nick Lowe, followed in quick succession by "Kid" and "Brass In Pocket" which cracked the American market for the band (reach No. 14 on the Billboard Hot 100).  

1. Precious
2. The Phone Call
3. Up The Neck
4. Tattooed Love Boys
5. Space Invader
6. The Wait
7. Stop Your Sobbing
8. Kid
9. Private Life
10. Brass In Pocket
11. Lovers Of Today
12. Mystery Achievement

Customer Reviews (1.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

A pretty ugly mess here...

posted on 09/23/2009
1 Stars
What a fiasco. Sound effects are missing from two tracks, another is at the wrong speed, heavy compression is very much in evidence, and it all comes from a digital source. Hoffman himself has disavowed this mess, which is now adding to a long line of QC issues with Hoffman mastering for AF - Deep Purple digital clicking, digital noise on Morrison Hotel, digital sources and backup tapes used, compression on Soft parade - best to avoid, this isn't going to end pretty.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.