Baby Face Willette - Stop And Listen

 (Mono Version)

Baby Face Willette - Stop And Listen


Classic Records (Blue Note)



Product No.:
ABNC 4084Q

200 Gram Vinyl Record

200 Gram LP  

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Made up of the same trio who had just months before tracked Grant Green's Grant's First Stand, the guitarist and drummer Ben Tucker then supported organist Willette on what is arguably his finest title in an unfortunately, thin discography. His approach to the Hammond B-3 was always much more bluesy than Jimmy Smith or Jack McDuff and the results here bare witness. The snappy trio renders fine arrangements of old faves "The Work Song" and "Willow Weep For Me" plus Baby Face's own "Jumpin' Jupiter" and the title tune.

1. Willow Weep For Me
2. Chances Are Few
3. Jumpin' Jupiter
4. Stop And Listen
5. At Last
6. Soul Walk
7. Worksong

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Soulful Hammond

posted on 12/20/2012
5 Stars
Reviewer: Hazu
A clear recommendation to fans of Grant's First Stand but with a different organ-guitar ratio. Surfaces on my copy are excellent.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.