Niela Miller - Songs of Leaving





Product No.:
ANUM 40011
UPC: 825764400114
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

Culled from a warped acetate cut at Variety Recording Service in 1962, Songs Of Leaving is the complete songbook of New York folkie Niela Miller. Something of a Bleeker & MacDougal scenester, Miller picked up the guitar after an encounter with Eric Weissberg, lent her Martin to Pete Seeger, and even had Dave Van Ronk cover "Mean World Blues." Her real claim to fame, however, is writing "Baby Don't Go To Town," a song that boyfriend Billy Roberts would steal and "rewrite" as "Hey Joe." You've heard Hendrix, Love, the Byrds, the Creation, Wilson Pickett and hundreds others do it, now hear the original for the first time. LP limited to 2,000 copies. Sleeved in a tip-on jacket.

1. Down Hearted Man
2. Baby Don't Go To Town
3. Too Long Blues
4. You Gotta Know How To Love
5. Daddy Went To Jail
6. Hushabye Blues
7. Mean World Blues
8. Goodbye New York
9. Goodbye Blues
10. Jenny Gal

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it