Isaac Hayes - Hot Buttered Soul





Product No.:
CSTA 4114
UPC: 025218411424


Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

Isaac Hayes' first album, Presenting Isaac Hayes, was a low-budget, jazz-imbued affair recorded on the spur of the moment with only bass and drums accompanying his piano and voice. This, his second, offered something altogether different: a husky, very masculine baritone rapping and crooning against a massive backdrop of strings and brass from the Memphis Symphony and the solid grooves of the Bar-Kays. With this 1969 release, made up of four long tracks, Hayes revolutionized African-American popular music by leading it out of the era of the three-minute single and into concept album territory. A double-sided single of edited versions of "Walk on By" and "By the Time I Get to Phoenix" sold fairly well, but fans clamored for the full-length treatments and turned Hot Buttered Soul into a smash - the first-ever gold album for Stax Records.

1. Walk on By
2. Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic
3. One Women
4. By the Time I Get to Phoenix