Virgil Fox - The Bach Gamut: Live in San Francisco 1976


Reference Recordings



Product No.:
CREF 107
UPC: 030911110727
In Stock


Original Price: $16.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

It was serendipity, indeed. In September 1976, America's most renowned organist, Virgil Fox, was to play a series of concerts at St. Mary's Cathedral in San Francisco. RR's own "Prof." Keith Johnson was invited to record everything, and he did, using his legendary hand-built three-channel analog tape machine. Now, after years of complex negotiations, RR is releasing highlights from these concerts, featuring the mighty music of Johann Sebastian Bach. Virgil Fox was always controversial. Like Vladimir Horowitz, Fox always gave highly personal interpretations of everything he played, and purists frequently railed at the liberties he took. But unlike many musicians found on organ benches, Fox was never dull. Invariably, he made one hear the music in a new way, and audiences roared their approval – as you'll hear at these live performances.

1 - 2. Fantasy and Fugue in G minor, BWV 542
3. Fugue Reprise
4. Sheep May Safely Graze, BWV 208
5 - 7. Toccata Adagio and Fugue in C, BWV 564
8. St. Matthew Passion – Finale, BWV 244
9. Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 543
11. Air on a G String, BWV 1068
12 - 13. Prelude and Fugue in D, BWV 532
14. I Call to Thee Lord Jesus Christ, BWV 639

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it