Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

The Byrds - The Notorious Byrd Brothers

 (Mono Version)

The Byrds - The Notorious Byrd Brothers




Folk Rock

Product No.:
ASUN 5201
UPC: 090771520111
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Once again available in the original, highly-sought-after mono incarnation.

Now heavily influenced by the earth-shaking creations of two master musicians - John Coltrane and Ravi Shankar - the Byrds began recording their new singles, "Eight Miles High" and "Why," along with tracks for their upcoming album Fifth Dimension at Columbia Studios in Hollywood. Growing more confident by the day in their studio acumen and songwriting skills, the Byrds logged long nights of hypnotic in-studio jamming, then hammered the white-hot magma into songs that will live forever. McGuinn's solos soared as never before, his technique now fusing the familiar, melodic overtones of the Rickenbacker 12-string with a powerfully new staccato dissonance absorbed from the majestic saxophone of John Coltrane. Michael Clarke's drumming never sounded better, his Elvin Jones-like cymbal splashes and rolling-tom thunder driving the band like an atomic generator approaching critical mass. Chris Hillman's swooping bass lines took on a McCartney-esque timbre that filled in every corner of the canvas with bold, melodic strokes. But it was perhaps David Crosby, playing in a brashly percussive way no one had ever heard before from a rhythm guitarist, who best digested and interpreted the Eastern influences of the day: the ragas and tales of Ravi Shankar.

1. Artificial Energy
2. Goin' Back
3. Natural Harmony
4. Draft Morning
5. Wasn't Born To Follow
6. Get To You
7. Change Is Now
8. Old John Robertson
9. Tribal Gathering
10. Dolphin's Smile
11. Space Odyssey

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it