Odetta - It's Impossible


Alto Pop



Product No.:
AATP 1503
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

An Awesome-Sounding Live Recording, Worthy Of Our Highest Recommendation

One of the strongest voices in the folk revival and civil rights movements, Odetta sings on this release with such commanding passion that the emotion becomes quite literally contagious. Odetta, who died in 2008 of heart disease, was a true treasure of American music and the rightful reciepient in 1999 of the National Endowment for the Arts' Medal of the Arts. She recorded a slew of tremendous records, including 16 in the 1960s, but to hear her live - and with such stunning clarity as this recording affords - is to experience why her voice and style and ownership of these songs was so moving.

Originally released in 1976, this stripped-down set includes Odetta on vocals and guitar, Red Mitchell on bass and Chris Joseph on piano.

Odetta's It's Impossible makes our Acoustic Sounds' Best Folk Albums list - every time!


1. Hit Or Miss
2. Kukaboro
3. Water Is Wide
4. Sail Away Ladies
5. Roll On Ruddy/ Lowlands
6. Deep Blue Sea/ Michele Row The Boat/ Cool Water/ Hit Or Miss
7. Until It's time For You To Go
8. It's Impossible

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it