Ella Fitzgerald - Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie!


Verve (Acoustic Sounds Series)



Product No.:
AVER 898678
UPC: 602458986785
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

New Arrival

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record
Hybrid Stereo SACD


New for 2024!

Acoustic Sounds Series reissues from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises!

Monthly releases highlighting the world's most historic and best jazz records!

Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analog tapes

180-gram LPs pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jackets

Series supervised by Chad Kassem CEO of Acoustic Sounds

"...this new version mastered by Bernie Grundman ... sure sounds warmer than I remember the Classic being, but my system's much improved since I last played this record. ... if you have one of those — original, Classic or Acoustic Sounds double 45, you're all set, and if you don't, you'll definitely like this one for music, sound, gatefold laminated jacket and of course Ella's wonderful performance backed by a great combo! Easy to recommend and I do!" — Music = 9/11; Sound = 10/11 — Michael Fremer, TrackingAngle.com. Read the entire review here.

Fourteen numbers from the heyday of swing, composed sometime between 1930 and 1945 — played and sung time and time again in ballrooms, or on the radio to advertise biscuits or war bonds, were recorded by Ella in completely new and personal interpretations in 1961. No one should be put off by the rather unfortunate cover. Clap Hands... is absolutely top notch as regards musicality, perfect recording quality, superb accompaniment by a small ensemble, with room for improvisations; it offers a wonderful opportunity to discover something new in these evergreens, despite the occasionally banal lyrics. The songs of this recording conjure up bygone days, with listeners in the 21st century being offered a highly personal homage to one of the most successful periods in the 100-year history of jazz.

Seeking to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded, Verve's Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series utilizes the skills of top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings. All titles are mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality gatefold sleeves with tip-on jackets. The releases are supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, the world's largest source for audiophile recordings.



Ratings By Michael Fremer @ trackingangle.com

1. Night In Tunisia
2. You're My Thrill
3. My Reverie
4. Stella My Starlight
5. 'Round Midnite
6. Jersey Bounce
7. Signing Off
8. Cry Me A River
9. This Year's Kisses
10. Good Morning Heartache
11. (I Was) Born To Be Blue
12. Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie!
13. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most
14. Music Goes 'Round And 'Round

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it