Lee 'Scratch' Perry and Friends - Open The Gate

 (Numbered Limited Edition Orange Vinyl)


Music On Vinyl



Product No.:
AMOV 3054
EAN: 8719262023048
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3
New Arrival

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram 3LP orange vinyl

Recordings from the late Black Ark period

Features collaborations with The Heptones, Leroy Sibbles, Junior Murvin, The Diamonds, The Congos and The Upsetters among many others

Limited edition of 2,500 numbered copies, includes three printed innersleeves

The Jamaican dub pioneer Lee 'Scratch' Perry had the ability to attract some of the best musicians around to indulge in their fantasies. He knew how to draw the best out of those who wandered by their studios. The 1989 compilation album Open The Gate is a collection of the 12' versions Lee Perry did in the late Black Ark period. For the recordings, he gathered some of the best singers of the island, including Anthony 'Sangie' Davis, The Heptones, Leroy Sibbles, The Diamonds, The Congos, Junior Murvin and of course Perry's studio band The Upsetters amongst others.

Side A
1. Words - Anthony ‘Sangie' Davis & Lee Perry
2. Vampire - Devon Irons & Dr. Alimantado

Side B
1. Babylon Falling Version - The Heptones & The Upsetters
2. Mistry Babylon Version - The Heptones & The Upsetters
3. Garden Of Life - Leroy Sibbles

Side C
1. History - Carlton Jackson
2. Sons Of Slaves - Junior Delgado
3. Open The Gate - Watty Burnett

Side D
1. Talk About It Yama-Ky - The Mighty Diamonds & The Upsetters
2. Cherry Oh Baby - Eric Donaldson
3. Rainy Night In Portland - Watty Burnett

Side E
1. Ruffer Ruff Ruffer Dub - Horace Smart & The Upsetters
2. Neckodeemus - The Congos
3. Know Love - The Twin Roots

Side F
1. City Too Hot - Lee Perry
2. Bionic Rats - Lee Perry
3. Bad Weed - Junior Murvin

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it