Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Merle Travis - Live at Town Hall Party





Product No.:
ASUN 5209
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Following in the footsteps of our ultra-cool Johnny Cash Town Hall Party LPs, Sundazed is back with three more live-in-the-studio sessions from ’58-’59, featuring Gene Vincent, Eddie Cochran and Merle Travis. Taken from Tex Ritter’s legendary Town Hall Party television series, their LPs capture rockabilly legends Gene Vincent, Eddie Cochran and guitar-picking icon Merle Travis at the absolute top of their games, each playing incredible live material – and never before released on vinyl. If you missed the TV coverage more than 45 years ago, here’s your chance to breathe in the sweet magic of these historic sessions.

Of Merle Travis’ guitar playing, Chet Atkins once wrote, “I can truthfully say that Merle has been the continuing influence in everything I’ve tried to do.” Cliffie Stone added, “No guitarist in the music world is more original. Merle makes those six strings sound like an entire orchestra.” Of himself, Merle says simply, “I always liked playing and writing songs. And it sure was better than working in the mines.”

1. Fat Gal
2. If You Can’t Go Right Don’t Go Wrong
3. Bugle Call Rag
4. Main Street Breakdown
5. Nine Pound Hammer
6. Cannon Ball Rag
7. Won’t You Ride in My Little Red Wagon
8. Ike Everly’s Rag
9. Cincinnati Lou
10. Back Home in Indiana
11. House of David Blues
12. Hominy Grits

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it