Doug MacLeod - A Soul To Claim


Reference Recordings (Fresh!)



Product No.:
CFRS 746
UPC: 030911174620
In Stock



or Add to Wishlist

New for 2022 from songwriter, singer and storyteller Doug MacLeod

"Like all good blues storytellers, Doug MacLeod sings and speaks the truth." — Living Blues

Reference Recordings is proud to present its fifth album with the prolific singer, songwriter, engaging storyteller, and masterful guitarist, Doug MacLeod.

Like the old masters who taught him, MacLeod's music expresses life and times through an elusive quality that may simply be a keen sense of what matters most. "There's humor in my songs, but also messages on how to make it through this life," he says. "That's what I learned from the old guys."

For A Soul To Claim, Doug teamed up with legendary producer and engineer Jim Gaines. Through 12 new MacLeod originals, Doug and his trusty Waterloo guitar "P-nut" are joined by Memphis studio veterans Rick Steff/keyboards, Dave Smith/bass, and Steve Potts/drums for five tracks, six tracks feature Doug alone and one is a solo instrumental. Liner notes from Doug MacLeod and Deems Taylor award-­winning journalist Dan Forte (Vintage Guitar), provide liner notes for the release.

The way Doug sees it, "Blues is about the journey, it's about speaking honestly from your heart. It's a music of hope. No matter what cards you have been dealt — either the cards you started out with in this life, or the cards you're holding now — if it's not a good hand, you can overcome it."

A perennial Blues Music Award nominee and multiple Blues Music Award winner including Acoustic Artist of The Year and Acoustic Album of the Year, A Soul To Claim is Doug's 22nd album.

"Hopefully I will make you laugh, cry, think," he says. "Most importantly, I hope I make you feel, because that's what this music is about."


1. A Soul To Claim
2. Be What You Is
3. Money Talks
4. Where Are You?
5. Dodge City
6. Smokey Nights And Faded Blues
7. Only Porter At The Station
8. Mud Island Morning
9. Dubb’s Talking Disappointment Blues
10. Grease The Wheel
11. Somewhere On A Mississippi Highway
12. There Is Always Love

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it