Porcupine Tree - Voyage 34

 (2016 Steven Wilson Remaster)





Product No.:
ASNP 162
UPC: 802644816210
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
New Arrival

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram instrumental classic compilation on double LP

Remastered by Steven Wilson with more naturalistic dynamics and EQ!

Includes the original full-length version of "Phase IV"!

British progressive rock band Porcupine Tree recorded the individual tracks for the instrumental composition Voyage 34: The Complete Trip in 1992 and 1993, while the entire album itself was compiled and released in 2000. This journey is split into four phases that rocks for more than hour.

Voyage 34 is a concept album, where the LSD trip of a young man called Brian is told with spoken words. Musically it is a fusion of progressive rock, psychedelic rock and trance music.

Originally a 30-minute track intended to be the second disc of Up The Downstair, Steven Wilson eventually decided to release "Voyage 34" independently of the rest of the album. It was released in two parts, as singles, as Phase I & Phase II in 1992.

In 1993, Voyage 34: Remixes was released, containing two remixes of the originals. "Voyage 34 (Phase III)" was a remix by the British electronic music group Astralasia, while "Voyage 34 (Phase IV)" was a remix by Wilson himself, along with future band member Richard Barbieri.

A voice sample of Dead Can Dance's song "As the Bell Rings the Maypole Spins" is repeated throughout all four tracks as well as a synth effect sampled from Van der Graaf Generator's song "A Plague of Lighthouse Keepers."

Following the now sold-out first box set of Porcupine Tree's Delerium Years and the near-sold-out second box set, Kscope/Snapper are re-releasing the band's records from the era, including Voyage 34, as a series of LPs presented in gatefold packaging.

This double LP version is pressed on audiophile vinyl and features the tracks remastered by Steven Wilson in 2016 with more naturalistic dynamics and EQ — remasters previously only available in The Delerium Years 1991 — 1993 box set.

The artwork was completely redesigned for the original re-release and contains new images from longtime Steven Wilson collaborator, Lasse Hoile.




Disc 1
1. Voyage 34: Phase I
2. Voyage 34: Phase II

Disc 2
1. Voyage 34: Phase III (Astralasia Dreamstate)
2. Voyage 34: Phase IV (A New Civilization)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it