XTC - English Settlement


Ape House



Product No.:
AAPE 105
UPC: 633367790910
EAN: 0633367790910
In Stock

200 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

200 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Preowned Vinyl Record
U.K. Repress/ Canada Collection

200-gram double LP

Cut from the original stereo master

Approved by Andy Partridge

Double 200gm heavyweight vinyl LP pressing. Includes lyric sheet. English Settlement is the fifth studio album and first double album by the English rock band XTC, originally released in 1982. It marked a turn towards the more pastoral pop songs that would dominate later XTC releases, with an emphasis on acoustic guitar, 12-string electric guitar and fretless bass.

XTC recorded the album at The Manor Studio in Oxfordshire with producer Hugh Padgham, the engineer of their previous two LPs. Compared to the band's previous releases, English Settlement showcased more complex and intricate arrangements, lengthier songs, lyrics that covered broader social issues, and a wider range of music styles.

Side A
1. Runaways
2. Ball And Chain
3. Senses Working Overtime
4. Jason And The Argonauts

Side B
1. No Thugs In Our House
2. Yacht Dance
3. All Of A Sudden (It's Too Late)

Side C
1. Melt The Guns
2. Leisure
3. It's Nearly Africa
4. Knuckle Down

Side D
1. Fly On The Wall
2. Down In The Cockpit
3. English Roundabout
4. Snowman

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it