XTC - Skylarking


Ape House



Product No.:
AAPE 113
UPC: 633367789716
EAN: 0633367789716
In Stock

200 Gram Vinyl Record

200 Gram LP

A critically acclaimed gem from the 1980s!

With a bevy of great songs beyond the controversial hit single "Dear God," Skylarking can easily be considered the finest album of XTC's career.

Now available on a single LP with all 15 tracks for the first time ever. The first 1980s versions didn’t include Dear God and after it was a hit, Mermaid Smiled was dropped on some later versions to include Dear God. Pressed on superior 200-gram vinyl. Song lyrics sheet included. The full album has only previously been on vinyl in 2LP deluxe editions playing at 45 RPM

XTC's frothy, beatle-esque concept album about birth, death, and the passing of the seasons is hardly soft-headed: its melodic inventiveness and lush orchestrations supports bitterness ("That's Really Super, Supergirl"), displacement ("The Man who Sailed Around His Soul"), and agnostic tirade ("Dear God") as often as it does the pleasures of sun and shower. The greatest achievement of XTC's post- Drums and Wires career, Skylarking is a must-have for the first days of spring.

Side A
1. Summer's Cauldron
2. Grass
3. The Meeting Place
4. That's Really Super, Supergirl
5. Ballet for a Rainy Day
6. 1000 Umbrellas
7. Season Cycle

Side B
1. Earn Enough for Us
2. Big Day
3. Another Satellite
4. Mermaid Smiled
5. The Man Who Sailed Around His Soul
6. Dear God
7. Dying
8. Sacrificial Bonfire

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it