Johann Johannsson - Drone Mass/ American Contemporary Music Ensemble & Theater Of Voices/Hillier


Deutsche Grammophon



Product No.:
ADGR 90101
UPC: 028948374229
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

New Arrival

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

Drone Mass was commissioned by ACME in 2015 in celebration of its 10th anniversary and was premiered by the late J¢hann J¢hannsson, ACME, and Roomful of Teeth in the Temple of Dendur in the Sackler Wing at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

According to J¢hannsson, "Drone Mass is a 60-minute contemporary oratorio which fuses the sounds of string quartet, electronics and vocals, and is inspired by texts from the Nag Hammadi library, sometimes referred to as the Coptic Gospel of the Egyptians."

Side A
1. One Is True
2. Two is Apocryphal
3. Triptych in Mass
4. To Fold & Remain Dormant
5. Divine Objects

Side B
1. The Low Drone of Circulating Blood, Diminishes with Time
2. Moral Vacuums
3. Take the Night Air
4. The Mountain View, the Majesty of the Snow-Clad Peaks, from a Place of Contemplation and Reflection

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it