Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Sarah Vaughan - Live At The Berlin Philharmonie 1969

 (Numbered Limited Edition Mono Version)


The Lost Recordings



Product No.:
ATLRE 2004037
EAN: 3770020964015
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
New Arrival

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram double LP

"Sarah Vaughan had one of the magnificent voices of the 20th century, and she put it through extraordinary paces. Then she might turn around and swing a show tune with a light touch. She could do both and everything in between." — Kevin Whitehead, for NPR's Fresh Air. To read his whole review of Sarah Vaughan from Live At The Berlin Philharmonie 1969, click here.

It is at a very special moment in Sarah Vaughan's life that this double recital, recorded on November 9, 1969 at the Berlin Philharmonie, takes place.

To everyone's astonishment, this small, clumsy 45-year-old silhouette will sing that evening one of the most masterful stage performances of her career that could be captured by a recording. In almost two hours, she will silence all reticence by proving how much her approach to music remains eminently topical.

Surrounded with an elegance as discreet as it is stimulating by a trio that is a past master in the art of understatement, free of mannerisms, still as virtuosic as ever, developing her vocal technique to the highest degree throughout her incredible range, between naturalness and sophistication, simplicity and refinement, Sarah Vaughan is astonishing. Sarah Vaughan resolutely favours sentimental melodies, making her warm, supple, suave and swinging voice the ultra-sensitive seismograph of the whole range of mixed feelings.

The Lost Recordings label travels the world in search of rare or previously unreleased recordings by legendary artists. Using a unique restoration process, these priceless pieces of musical heritage are brought back to life.

Side A
1. A Lot of Livin’ to Do
2. And I Love Him
3. Alfie
4. On a Clear Day
5. Passing Strangers

Side B
1. Misty
2. I Cried for You
3. My Funny Valentine
4. All of Me
5. Tenderly

Side C
1. Fly Me to the Moon
2. Time After Time
3. The Trolley Song
4. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
5. The Sweetest Sounds

Side D
1. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
2. Day In, Day Out
3. What Now, My Love
4. I Had a Ball
5. Didn’t We

(5 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.
Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.