Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Livingston Taylor - Good Friends

 (Numbered Limited Edition)


AudioNautes Recordings



Product No.:
AANR 2003
Pre Order

180 Gram Vinyl Record

Shipping June 2021

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Numbered edition limited to 500 copies worldwide!

Mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk Studios from the original analog master tapes

Pressed at Pallas in Germany HQ—180-gram LP

An album full of skillfully crafted pop songs and classics with a jazzy twist. Originally released in 1993, Good Friends is singer-songwriter Livingston Taylor's ninth album. Taylor includes several cover songs along with his own self-penned material.

His cover of Bill Withers' "Grandma's Hands" takes the original's simple arrangement (just a bluesy electric guitar, bass and drums behind Wither's voice) and recreates the song into a gospel-choir backed a cappella performance. Based on the lyrics, the Grandma of this song was a religious woman who "clapped in church on Sunday morning" and "played a tambourine so well. He also tackles the Wizard of Oz selections, "If I Only Had a Brain" and "Somewhere Over the Rainbow."

Keeping with the Chesky Records standards, as the back-cover reads, this album was "recorded with minimalist miking techniques and without overdubbing or artificial enhancement to ensure the purest and most natural sound possible."

Side A
1. Out Of This World
2. Jacques Cousteau
3. Heart & Soul
4. Carolina Day
5. If I Only Had A Brain
6. Grandma’s Hands
7. Blind
8. Good Friends

Side B
1. Pajamas
2. Save Your Heart For Me
3. Fifth & Vine
4. Bluer Than Blue
5. In My Reply
6. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
7. Thank You Song

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it