Dire Straits - Communique

180-gram vinyl reissue

Gold-certified second studio album featuring "Lady Writer"

Dire Straits' Communiqué is so smooth and effortless, they were originally criticized for replicating the blueprints of the band's breakout debut. More than 35 years after its original release in June 1979, Communiqué rightfully takes its place as the group's most underrated record - a nine-track set spiked with engaging storytelling, relaxed vibes, and deceiving simplicity.

Mark Knopfler's penchant for sketching cynical characters is developed on moody tracks such as "Where Do You Think You're Going" and "News," while engineer Jerry Wexler's presence at the boards ensures the band keeps the rhythms extra tight. The quartet's low-key blues and swampy, Southern-styled grooves turn every song into an exercise in understated virtuosity.

Side A
1. Once Upon a Time in the West
2. News
3. Where Do You Think You're Going?
4. Communiqué

Side B
1. Lady Writer
2. Angel of Mercy
3. Portobello Belle
4. Single-Handed Sailor
5. Follow Me Home

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it