Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis

 (50th Anniversary Limited Edition)


Run Out Groove



Product No.:
UPC: 081227891978
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

New Arrival

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
Limited Edition

50th Anniversary Edition on 2LP 180-gram vinyl

Includes second disc of bonus tracks new to vinyl!

Lacquers cut at Sam Phillips Recording Studio from the original stereo master

Tip-on gatefold jacket; limited to 5,000 copies!

Curtis Mayfield recorded a string of hits with The Impressions before leaving the influential soul-gospel group to embark upon a solo career that began more than 50 years ago and produced some of his greatest work. Known as the "Gentle Genius," Mayfield has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice — first as a member of The Impressions and later as a solo artist.

Mayfield was only 14 years old when he joined The Impressions in 1956. He spent the next 14 years with the group, writing many of their hits: "Gypsy Woman," "It's All Right" and "People Get Ready," a classic that's earned a number of prestigious accolades, including induction into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1998.

Mayfield left the group in 1970 and launched his solo career with his debut album, Curtis. The album reached the Billboard Pop Albums Chart Top 20 and was certified gold. It features "(Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below, We're All Going To Go," a hit in the U.S., and "Move On Up," which charted in the U.K. In terms of cultural significance, the album's potent combination of socially conscious lyrics and soul/funk music helped blaze a trail for later albums such as Marvin Gaye's What's Going On and Stevie Wonder's Innervisions.



Side A
1. (Don't Worry) If There’s A Hell Below We're All Gonna Go
2. The Other Side Of Town
3. The Makings Of You
4. We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue

Side B
1. Move On Up (Extended Version)
2. Miss Black America
3. Wild And Free
4. Give It Up

Side C
1. Power To The People (Demo) [Mono Version]
2. Underground (Demo) [Mono Version]
3. Ghetto Child (Demo)
4. Readings In Astrology (Demo)
5. Suffer

Side D
1. Miss Black America (Demo)
2. The Makings Of You (Alternate Backing Track Take)
3. (Don’t Worry) If There’s A Hell Below We’re All Gonna Go (Alternate Backing Track Take)
4. (Don’t Worry) If There’s A Hell Below We’re All Gonna Go (Mono Version) [Single Version]

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Reissue of the year!

posted on 08/10/2021
5 Stars
Reviewer: Mark Cyst
This record blows my original out of the water. Bass is present in all songs! Pressing is quiet and flat with lots of oomph. The bonus material is as good as the album itself. Pick this up now!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.