Funkadelic - Electric Spanking Of War Babies






Product No.:
ACLY 141
EAN: 5060767440568
Pre Order

Vinyl Record



or Add to Wishlist

Remastered reissue

Masterminded by the larger-than-life figure of George Clinton, Funkadelic was a key component of his influential P-Funk empire. Funkadelic's unique combination of Rock, Psychedelia and Soul led to the band to crossing over into the pop mainstream and gaining an international following.

The last in a decade-long run of Top 50 R&B albums, The Electric Spanking Of War Babies was the band's 12th studio LP and featured several players new to the Funkadelic line-up, notably Sly Stone. With its allusions to the Vietnam War and US imperialism, this project was destined to court controversy from the start, not least for its uncompromising sleeve art which Warner Bros. demanded be changed.

Originally conceived as a double album, many tracks saw release on Clinton's later P-Funk projects. Described by Christgau as "the solidest, weirdest chunk of P-Funk since one nation gathered under a groove" and arguably the better for having been prcised down to a single album, The Electric Spanking... spawned two hit singles when the title track made US R&B No.60, and 'Shockwaves' (US R&B No.53). This faithful reissue replicates the original "censored" artwork. It also includes an authoritative essay by John Masouri.

1. The Electric Spanking of War Babies
2. Electro-Cuties
3. Funk Gets Stronger, Pt. 1
4. Brettino’s Bounce
5. Funk Gets Stronger (Killer Millimeter Longer Version) / She Loves You
6. Shockwaves
7. Oh, I
8. Icka Prick

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it