Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Herbert von Karajan - Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie


Esoteric (Deutsche Grammophon)



Product No.:
CDGR 90240 SA
EAN: 4907034223718
In Stock

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

Limited Edition Hybrid Stereo SACD

Herbert von Karajan conducts the Berlin Philharmonic, featuring David Bell on organ, in Richard Strauss' Eine Alpensinfonie, Op.64, and Metamorphosen. Recorded December 1-3, 1980 (Alpensinfonie), and September 25, 1980 (Metamorphosen), Philharmonie, Berlin.

The reissue of classical music masterpieces by Esoteric has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using Hybrid Super Audio CD (SACD) technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first Hybrid SACD release of historical recording selections that have been main stays of the catalog since their initial release. These new audio versions feature Esoteric's proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

SACD Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (Esoteric Company)
SACD Re-mastering Engineer: Masaya Higashino (JVC Mastering Center Daikanyama Studio)
SACD Authoring: Atsuo Fujita (Ef Limited)

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Japanese pressing
• Deluxe, full-color high-quality Digi-pak gatefold packaging

David Bell, organ
Berliner Philharmoniker
Herbert von Karajan, conductor

Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64

Eine Alpensinfonie, Op. 64
1. Nacht
2. Sonnenaufgang
3. Der Anstieg
4. Eintritt in den Wald
5. Wanderung neben dem Bache
6. Am Wasserfall
7. Erscheinung
8. Auf blumige Wiesen
9. Auf der Alm
10. Durch Dickicht und Gestrüpp auf Irrwegen
11. Auf dem Gletscher
12. Gefahrvolle Augenblicke
13. Auf dem Gipfel
14. Vision
15. Nebel steigen auf
16. Die Sonne verdüstert sich allmählich
17. Elegie
18. Stille vor dem Sturm
19. Gewitter und Sturm, Abstieg
20. Sonnenuntergang
21. Ausklang
22. Nacht

23. Studie für 23 Solostreicher

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Eine Alpensinfone/Karajan come full circle!

posted on 03/22/2021
5 Stars
Reviewer: Ronald H.
This was the first Classical cd that I bought in late 1982, when the cd format was first introduced. Historically, Eine Alpensinfone/Karajan was the first classical title to be mastered to cd along with Abba's The Visitors, at Polygram's Hanover W Germany cd plant. There has only been one other major remaster of this title. Esoteric, in cooperation with Universal Music, which owns this title, have remastered the recording using there own proprietary equipment. When it comes to music reproduction, I'm a minimalist. I have listened to this hybrid sacd on a Sony D-303 flagship portable cd player from 1991, mated with Sony MDR-E484B flagship earphones from 1990. My takeaway is, this version is the pinnacle of warmth and definition that was missing from previous editions. So, imagine how nice it will sound with sacd equipment. As a bonus, in addition to the title composition, Strauss's Metamorphosen, is included. Highly recommended!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.