Weezer - Ok Human





Product No.:
AATL 645892
UPC: 075678645853
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist


Recorded in quarentine during Covid-19 and inspired by the Beach Boys' Pet Sounds

OK Human's arrival will precede that of Van Weezer, the band's since-postponed riff-heavy 2020 album that is now set for release on May 7, 2021.

Although OK Human's title is a nod to Radiohead's OK Computer, the music on OK Human is more inspired by the Beach Boys' Pet Sounds: During his Covid-19 quarantine this summer, the ever-prolific Rivers Cuomo went to work at his piano on a collection of new songs that he eventually brought to the studio, where he was joined by Weezer and a masked 39-piece orchestra.

"OK Human was made at a time when humans-playing-instruments was a thing of the past. All we could do is look back on ancient times when humans really mattered and when the dark tech-takeover fantasy didn't exist," the band wrote in a caption for the video "All My Favorite Songs." "We used our instruments to connect to the 1960s and 1970s and, with the orchestra, back to the 18th and 19th centuries. We had no click track or loops or hi-tech sounds. Not even an electric guitar."

Other musical touchstones for OK Human include Harry Nilsson's Nilsson Schmilsson, Randy Newman's self-titled debut, the Carpenters' records and Francoise Hardy's Message Personnel, the band said of their upcoming LP.

Side A:
1. All My Favorite Songs
2. Aloo Gobi
3. Grapes Of Wrath
4. Numbers
5. Playing My Piano
6. Mirror Image

Side B:
1. Screens
2. Bird With A Broken Wing
3. Dead Roses
4. Everything Happens For A Reason
5. Here Comes The Rain
6. La Brea Tar Pits

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it