Animal Collective - Crestone

 (Original Motion Picture Score + Download Code)





Product No.:
ADOM 005
UPC: 192152000516
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Original motion picture score

Film score by Animal Collective!

Limited time album download included

"A short attention span extravaganza for the post-future generation." — Screen Slate

Crestone is the debut feature film written, produced and directed by Marnie Ellen Hertzler, scheduled for release on Feb. 16, 2021.

Set in the desert of Crestone, Colorado over the course of eight days, Crestone follows a group of SoundCloud rappers who live in solitude, growing weed and making music for the internet. When an old friend arrives to make a movie, reality and fiction begin to blur.

The film is scored by Animal Collective, one of the 21st century's definitive experimental acts.

Brian "Geologist" Weitz and Josh "Deakin" Dibb of Animal Collective on scoring the film:

"Living in the Sonoran Desert in the early 00's had a long-lasting and profound effect on me, especially after multiple years in New York City. Since then I've had a vague idea for a sound that would reflect that experience, but no project ever led me to it. The images, sounds, stories, and structures created and documented in "Crestone" finally did. Many thanks to Marnie, her crew, Dead God, the land, and as always, my brother Josh for the inspiration and opportunity to work on this project." — Brian

"I met Marnie when I lived in New Orleans for a brief time in 2015 and we quickly became friends. When she approached me about scoring "Crestone" I was really excited about it. It felt really natural to ask Brian to team up on this project since we had already been collaborating on a handful of things as a duo in the previous year or so. Having wanted to score a movie for many years, this was an ideal first project to explore the process. For me, the initial phase of developing the ideas for this was just to pull up a scene and sit down at my piano and improvise to the energy I interpreted. In many cases this initial pass was recorded and used for the final composition. This process of using the images, characters, editing and practical sound as a sort of sheet music to play to was really freeing and inspiring." — Josh

Crestone is an official selection of South by Southwest 2020 and True/False film fest

Side A
1. Dome Yard
2. Eye in the Sky
3. Boxing & Breathing
4. Scavengers
5. Wake Up Ryan
6. Benz’s Dream
7. Sloppy’s Dream
8. Sand That Moves

Side B
1. Over the Sangre de Christo
2. EBS
3. Sad Boy Sleeping
4. Ramshack
5. Smoke & Broken Mirror
6. Zapata Falls
7. Oh California
8. Cotton Candy Sky (Dead God Theme)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it