Femi and Made Kuti - Legacy +


Partisan Records



Product No.:
APRT 2189
UPC: 720841218913
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Double LP release of Femi Kuti's Stop The Hate and Made Kuti's For(e)word

Femi's first album in three years!

Made's debut album, writen and performed by Made!

Cover portraits of Femi and Made painted by Brooklyn-based artist Delphine Desane

During the course of his career, the legendary creator of Afrobeat, Fela Kuti, used his music to lament social injustices and political corruption in his native Nigeria. His music, a compelling blend of American funk and West African highlife, often locked into spellbinding grooves that seemed to go on forever. Yet that was the point: to fall deep into the rhythm and dance away the hardship.

While this impacted Nigeria and the entire world, it also affected Fela's son Femi and his son Made, both of whom carry his legacy as torchbearers for change. On February 5, 2021 Partisan Records, home to Fela's catalog, will release two albums from Femi and Made — both very much in the tradition of Fela's music, but with different scopes. Femi's album, Stop The Hate, radiates the unique Afrobeat sound that he has forged throughout his long career, affirming with conviction what his father would've claimed in the 1960s, ‘70s and ‘80s. Made's album, For(e)ward, is a modern and progressive freedom manifesto, pushing boundaries of the subgenre even further.

Both will be packaged into a double album called Legacy + that, when taken as a whole, bolsters the rich
musical heritage of the Kuti name. Yet this isn't just about honoring Fela, it's also personal for Femi and Made, a
father and son with deep creative synergy. Both albums that make up Legacy +  are steeped in the tradition
of Afrobeat invented by Fela, but each also offers their own unique vision. Femi's Stop The Hate honors Fela
in a traditionally fun, sharply political, and affirming way. Meanwhile Made's For(e)ward is a modern and
progressive freedom manifesto, pushing boundaries of the subgenre even further. Made also performs every
instrument on his album!


LP 1
1. Pà Pá Pà - Femi Kuti
2. As We Struggle Everyday - Femi Kuti
3. Stop the Hate - Femi Kuti
4. Land Grab - Femi Kuti
5. Na Bigmanism Spoil Government - Femi Kuti
6. You Can't Fight Corruption With Corruption - Femi Kuti
7. Show of Shame - Femi Kuti
8. Privatisation - Femi Kuti
9. Young Boy / Young Girl - Femi Kuti
10. Set Your Minds and Souls Free - Femi Kuti

LP 2
1. Free Your Mind - Made Kuti
2. Your Enemy - Made Kuti
3. Blood - Made Kuti
4. Different Streets - Made Kuti
5. Higher You'll Find - Made Kuti
6. Hymn - Made Kuti
7. Young Lady - Made Kuti
8. We Are Strong - Made Kuti

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it