Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Bob Marley and The Wailers - Exodus

 (Half-Speed Master )


Island Records



Product No.:
AISL 3508216
UPC: 602435082165
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

180-gram LP

Half-speed mastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios in London

Twelve Bob Marley & The Wailers albums are being remastered and reissued by Tuff Gong International through a limited-edition LP series to be available starting November 20, 2020. They include all nine Bob Marley & The Wailers studio albums recorded for Island Records, plus the live albums Live! and Babylon By Bus, and the world's best-selling reggae album, Legend.

Half-speed mastering produces far superior high-frequency (treble) response, and richer and fuller low-to-middle frequencies. All tracks were mastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios in London.

"After the success of 1974's Natty Dread and 1976's Rastaman Vibration, Bob Marley was not only the most successful reggae musician in the world, he was one of the most powerful men in Jamaica. Powerful enough, in fact, that he was shot by gunmen who broke into his home in December 1976, days before he was to play a massive free concert intended to ease tensions days before a contentious election for Jamaican Prime Minister. In the wake of the assassination attempt, Marley and his band left Jamaica and settled in London for two years, where he recorded 1977's Exodus.

"Thematically, Exodus represented a subtle but significant shift for Marley; while he continued to speak out against political corruption and for freedom and equality for Third World people, his lyrics dealt less with specifics and more with generalities and the need for peace and love (though 'So Much Things to Say,' 'Guiltiness,' and 'The Heathen' demonstrate the bullets had taken only so much sting out of Marley's lyrics). And while songs like 'Exodus' and 'One Love/People Get Ready' were anthemic, they also had less to say than the more pointed material from Marley's earlier albums. However, if Marley had become more wary in his point of view (and not without good cause), his skill as a songwriter was as strong as ever, and Exodus boasted more than a few classics, including the title song, 'Three Little Birds,' 'Waiting in Vain,' and 'Turn Your Lights Down Low,' tunes that defined Marley's gift for sounding laid-back and incisive at once." — AllMusic

Side A
1. Natural Mystic
2. So Much Things To Say
3. Guiltiness
4. The Heathen
5. Exodus

Side B
1. Jamming
2. Waiting In Vain
3. Turn Your Lights Down Low
4. Three Little Birds
5. One Love / People Get Ready

Customer Reviews (3.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Not worth the price tag

posted on 01/09/2021
3 Stars
Reviewer: Dave
I'm a fan of Exodus, and Rastaman Vibration. Every song on these albums are great. I was a little hesitant getting something at this price point when you could easily find an original for less than half the price. Now this particular record came with a certificate from Abby Road studios, stating they used the half speed Mastering process from the Original Source. Does that mean it was cut from the Original Master Tapes? I'm not sure. The sound itself is decent. The only complaint I have is at some points of the record it sounds like Bob's Vocals are buried in the mix, even the backup vocals are louder at times. If you're a huge fan of Bob Marley then I'd say go for it, but this pressing definitely didn't blow me away, and yes, at that price point I expected to be.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.