Sign Up for Our Email Newsletter

Gift Certificates

John Prine - John Prine Live


Oh Boy



Product No.:
AOHB 005
UPC: 787790259442
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

First vinyl reissue since 1988 on double LP!

"With years of experience playing club dates, John Prine has evolved into a very entertaining live performer, and this album presents him at his intimate best, telling funny stories and performing his most impressive material in unadorned arrangements." — AllMusic

John Prine Live was taped mostly during a three-day stint at The Coach House in San Juan Capistrano, California. It was released in 1988 on Oh Boy Records, Prine's own independent label. As he explained to David Fricke in 1993, Oh Boy needed product: "We didn't have another artist to put out. The idea was to have me and my guitar, telling stories and doing songs — and buying me some time until I could get into the studio again."

The album's version of "Angel From Montgomery" was recorded at an all-star memorial concert for Steve Goodman (who died of leukemia in 1984) held in Chicago in January 1985 and released later that year as Tribute To Steve Goodman. Prine is joined by Bonnie Raitt (who recorded "Angel From Montgomery" on her 1974 Streetlights album) and guitarist David Bromberg. The version of "Souvenirs" is taken from a 1970s performance by Prine and Goodman from the TV show Austin City Limits.


Side A
1. Come Back To Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard
2. Six O'Clock News
3. The Oldest Baby In The World
4. Angel From Montgomery

Side B
1. Grandpa Was a Carpenter
2. Blue Umbrella
3. Fish And Whistle
4. Sabu Visits The Twin Cities Alone
5. Living In The Future

Side C
1. Illegal Smile
2. Mexican Home
3. Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness
4. The Accident (Things Could Be Worse)
5. Sam Stone

Side D
1. Souvenirs
2. Aw Heck
3. Donald And Lydia
4. That's The Way That The World Goes Round
5. Hello In There

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it