Speakers Corner (Elektra)



Product No.:
AELE 7315
EAN: 4260019716040
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

In 1965, just one year after Paul Butterfield had formed his blues band — named after himself — and launched one of the very best groups among the white Chicago blues community, the band produced this dynamic and visionary album. The group presents a wide range of contrasting numbers, both eastern and western, which reflect the LP's title — something totally new and innovative.

In the first few titles, traditional standard numbers come over rather enigmatically while supporting original and rhythmic compactness, but this soon gives over to a tactically well-formed instrumentation and lengthy solo interludes. The all-embracing motto 'blues' is taken up by the band in Nat Adderley's "Work Song" at the very latest, with mind-expanding ways of playing and varying sounds. Catapulted by Mike Bloomfield's artistry on the guitar into the world of rock, all the musicians celebrate these well-known jazz standards and each man contributes his personal skill into forging a perfectly balanced team effort.

The title number "East-West" ultimately demolishes the world of the blues. In the tonal mixture of confidently prepared rock ingredients and borrowings from Indian music (raga rock), we have an amalgamation of rock, blues, jazz and oriental melodies which result in an emotional, unheard-of sound that is well worth the hearing.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. More information under All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.

Recording: July 1966 at Chess Studios, Chicago (IL), by Jac Holzman
Production: Barry Friedman, Mark Abramson, Paul Rothchild


Side One:
1. Walkin' Blues
2. Get Out Of My Life, Woman
3. I Got A Mind To Give Up Living
4. All These Blues
5. Work Song (order of solos: Mike Bloomfield, Paul Butterfield, Mark Naftalin, Elvin Bishop)

Side Two:
1. Mary, Mary
2. Two Trains Running
3. Never Say No (Vocal: Elvin Bishop)
4. East-West (order of solos: Elvin Bishop, Paul Butterfield, Mike Bloomfield)

Customer Reviews (3.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

My ears

posted on 01/17/2022
3 Stars
Reviewer: DD
have finally stopped bleeding. Great music, very important music, but devoid of bass, and very bright. The brightness is just shy of distortion. I have a bias setting on my amp that took some of the forwardness out of it. Too bad, I was really looking forward to this Speakers Corner record.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.