Thad Jones and Mel Lewis - All My Yesterdays

 (Numbered Limited Edition + Book)


Resonance Records



Product No.:
ARES 9023
UPC: 096802280238
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3

180 Gram LP
Original Price: $64.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra All My Yesterdays

The debut 1966 recordings at the Village Vanguard

First official LP release of opening night (Feb. 7, 1966 and March 21, 1966) recordings!

Officially endorsed by the estates of Thad Jones and Mel Lewis

180-gram hand-numbered 2LP sets mastered by Bernie Grundman, and pressed at RTI

"The music sounds marvelous, supercharged with jocular flair and soulful fire." — The New York Times

"Jones was a master arranger and conductor. On the disc, you can hear him shout encouragement to soloists and cue the other musicians. He wanted an electric atmosphere and got it." — The Wall Street Journal

Resonance proudly presents the first vinyl edition of the Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra captured live opening night on February 7, 1966 at the legendary Village Vanguard in Greenwich Village, NYC, several months before the run of classic recordings were done for Sonny Lester's Solid State Records. All My Yesterdays is being released in a beautifully-designed deluxe gatefold LP jacket with an impressive 20-page insert full of rare and previously unpublished photos by Raymond Ross, historic essay by author Chris Smith, and memoirs, and interviews with all the living members of the band including Jerry Dodgion, Eddie Daniels, Richard Davis and many others recounting in vivid detail all the exciting stories from those first couple months playing at the Vanguard.

Producer Zev Feldman shares, "The whole affair was remarkably serendipitous: a historic ensemble as it emerged on the scene, full of energy and vibrancy and beautifully recorded by the co-president and founder of Resonance Records, George Klabin, at the time a 19-year old, self-taught engineer, with his Crown 2-track tape machine and a simple portable mixing board." The band is full of late jazz icons such as Hank Jones, Pepper Adams, Jerome Richardson, Bob Brookmeyer and Joe Farrell, in addition to the living musicians whose words fill the booklet, So sit back, relax and, as George Klabin says, "Put on a pair of good stereo headphones and immerse yourself in the atmosphere of those two nights. You will hear all the subtleties: Thad's shouts, the room sound, the musicians' camaraderie, encouraging each other, and most of all the pure joy!"


• First official LP release of the opening night (February 7, 1966 & March 21, 1966) recordings officially endorsed by the estates of Thad Jones & Mel Lewis.
• Limited-edition of 180-gram, hand-numbered 2LP sets mastered by Bernie Grundman, cut at 33 1/3, and pressed by RTI.
• Ahead-of-its-time audiophile recording by Resonance label owner George Klabin when he was 19 years old, transferred/remastered from the original tapes.
• Astounding sound quality, recorded direct to two track, using six microphones on February 7, 1966 and 10 microphones on March 21, 1966 to capture every thrilling moment.
• 20-page insert includes essays and interviews by Chris Smith (author of The View from the Back of the Band: The Life and Music of Mel Lewis), executive
• producer George Klabin, composer/pianist Jim McNeely, trombonist/educator John Mosca, and producer Zev Feldman; as well as musicians heard on the
• recordings including Jerry Dodgion, Richard Davis, Eddie Daniels, Jimmy Owens, Garnett Brown, Tom McIntosh and Marv "Doc" Holladay.
• Rare and previously unpublished photos by Chuck Stewart, Raymond Ross and Jan Persson.



1. Back Bone
2 All My Yesterdays
3. Big Dipper

1. Mornin’ Reverend
2. The Little Pixie
3. Big Dipper (Alt. Take)

1. Low Down
2 Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be?)
3. Ah, That’s Freedom

1. Don‘t Ever Leave Me
2. Willow Weep For Me
3. Mean What You Say

1. Once Around
2. Polka Dots & Moonbeams
3. Mornin’ Reverend

1. All My Yesterdays
2. Back Bone

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it