Johnny Cash - Original Sun Sound Of Johnny Cash

 (Limited Edition Magenta Vinyl 2018 Remaster)





Product No.:
ACLY 1275
UPC: 506076744061
EAN: 5060767440612
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
Vinyl Record

First album for Sun Records remastered on 180-gram LP!

First 1,000 copies available on limited edition magenta vinyl!

The comprehensive remastering and repackaging upgrade of the Man In Black's legendary Sun catalog continues with the release of Johnny Cash's seventh and final album for Sun Records. Long after Cash's acrimonious departure for Columbia Records in 1958, Sun's release of Original Sun Sound of Johnny Cash proved that they still had a catalog of high-quality unreleased Cash material, with four new songs: "New Mexico," "Goodnight Irene," "Always Alone" and "Two Timin' Woman." In fact, Sun had released the leanest, most accomplished album in the Cash canon. The record also featured Cash's perhaps career-defining single "Big River," which reached No. 4 on the country charts in 1958 and shows off his instinctive poetic ability.

Complete with sleeve notes by noted Sun Records authority Adam Komorowski and president of Sun Entertainment Corporation John Singleton, this LP has been remastered from the original Sun master tapes by Nick Robbins at Soundmastering Studios and cut to lacquers at half-speed for unrivalled sound quality by Barry Grint at Alchemy Mastering in London.

The Johnny Cash reissue series has been personally overseen by Singleton in Nashville and Charly Records founder Jean-Luc Young, continuing the long relationship between the companies begun by Shelby Singleton and Young more than 40 years ago.

"We applaud and congratulate Charly Records for ensuring Johnny Cash's legendary Sun catalogue continues to be available on the quality formats his music deserves, especially on newly remastered vinyl for the seven LPs that were originally released by Sun Records in the late fifties and early sixties." — John Singleton (Sun Entertainment Corporation)


Side A
1. Always Alone
2. Country Boy
3. Goodnight Irene
4. Wide Open Road
5. Thanks a Lot
6. Big River

Side B
1. Belshazzar
2. Born to Lose
3. New Mexico
4. I Forgot to Remember to Forget
5. Two Timin' Woman
6. The Story of a Broken Heart

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it