Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

New Riders Of The Purple Sage - Bear’s Sonic Journals: Dawn of the New Riders of the Purple Sage (Chapter 1 - August 1, 1969, Bear’s Lair, Berkeley, California [Set 2])


Owsley Stanley Foundation



Product No.:

ALAC 96kHz/24bit Download

New Arrival

ALAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Sorry, this Product is no longer available. Please check out the alternatives below.

Total download size: 2.4 GB Total play length: 1:58:33
Cover art and liner notes included

“Of course, sociologically, you know, this all represents a big switch in the whole rock ’n’ roll trip.” ~Jerry Garcia

This offering includes Chapter 1 - August 1, 1969, Bear’s Lair, Berkeley, California (Set 2)

Check out the Complete Chapter 1-4 Box Set Here!

Rare, early live recordings of New Riders of the Purple Sage, captured by the Grateful Dead’s legendary soundman Owsley “Bear” Stanley, including a performance pre-dating their naming.

• Complete Chapter 1-4 Set includes tracks spanning 9 performances; some of the earliest recordings of Jerry Garcia on pedal steel; and never-before released tracks performed with Bob Weir outside of the Grateful Dead’s repertoire.

• This is history unvarnished, but it's pure and spirited and filled with so many moments that will touch the hearts of NRPS/GD fans.

• Freshly restored from the original tapes captured by legendary Grateful Dead soundman, Owsley Stanley,
a/k/a Bear, who is known for the purity of his "Sonic Journal" recordings.

• The fourth release in the award-winning "Bear's Sonic Journals" series. The foundation’s first release, Doc and Merle Watson: Never the Same Way Once, was named a Stereophile Recording of the Month.

• Original liner notes include interviews with David Nelson and Bob Weir, never-before published photographs of the band and Jerry Garcia, and original cover artwork by Bear’s daughter Nina.

1. Six Days On The Road
2. Henry
3. What’s Made Milwaukee Famous
4. I’ve Got A Tiger By The Tail
5. Don't Take Any Chances
6. Connection
7. Delilah
8. A-11
9. Garden of Eden
10. Hello Trouble
11. Last Lonely Eagle
12. Whatcha Gonna Do
13. Zebra Dun
14. Jerry Explains His Instrument
15. Kaw-Liga
16. Sweet Lovin’ One
17. Fair Chance To Know
18. Long Black Limousine
19. All I Ever Wanted
20. Truck Drivin' Man
21. The Lady Came From Baltimore
22. Games People Play
23. Introducing the Murdering Punks
24. To Have the Hurting End
25. I am Your Man
26. Henry

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it