Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Chris & Rich Robinson - Brothers Of A Feather: Live At The Roxy


Silver Arrow Records



Product No.:
UPC: 020286230472
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Double LP

Before regrouping as the Black Crowes in 2007, founding members/brothers Chris and Rich Robinson toured as a duo, with occasional support from two female backing singers, playing small venues. The highlights of a three-night stand at LA's Roxy are compiled here and they are a revelation. Crowes' fans will obviously be thrilled, but this is just as impressive for those who never warmed up to the band's gritty, sometimes shambling Southern blues rock.

The set list concentrates on obscurities from the Crowes' catalog and a few stragglers from each brother's solo work. Covers of offbeat folkish material such as "Driving Wheel" (best known through Tom Rush's version), John Martyn's "Over the Hill" and Gene Clark's "Polly," along with Lowell George's "Roll Um Easy," show the Robinson siblings' confidence and willingness to dig far under the surface for gems that wouldn't typically be included in their group's more electrified shows.

"Chris sings with gritty soul, putting his natural rasp to terrific use as he tears into the material with a passion even Crowes fans likely haven't previously experienced. A closing 'Thorn in My Pride' runs in excess of 12 minutes and, like the rest of the show, reverberates with a fervor and intensity that has heretofore remained hidden in the Black Crowes' existing recordings." — Hal Horowitz

Side 1
1. Horsehead
2. Cursed Diamond
3. Over The Hill
4. Magic Rooster Blues

Side 2
1. My Heart’s Been Killing Me
2. Forgiven Song
3. Someday Past The Sunset
4. Roll Um Easy

Side 3
1. Cold Boy Smile
2. Driving Wheel
3. Leave It Alone
4. Polly

Side 4
1. Darling Of The Underground Press
2. Thorn In My Pride

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it