The Doors - The Soft Parade

 (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

Total download size: 4.9 GB Total play length: 2:25:53
Cover art included, liner notes not included

Newly expanded set that includes the original studio album – and the B-side “Who Scared You” – newly remastered by Bruce Botnick, The Doors’ longtime engineer and mixer. The core of the new collection is comprised of more than a dozen unreleased songs. Among the highlights are stripped down “Doors Only” versions of five tracks where the horns and strings have been removed (“Tell All The People,” “Touch Me,” “Wishful Sinful,” “Runnin’ Blue,” and “Who Scared You.”) The set also features three of those stripped-back versions with new guitar parts added by Robby Krieger (“Touch Me,” “Wishful Sinful,” and “Runnin’ Blue).

The collection also uncovers three songs from studio rehearsals – with Ray Manzarek (a.k.a. Screamin’ Ray Daniels) on vocals – that include an early version of “Roadhouse Blues,” a song that would be released the following year on Morrison Hotel. These three songs include newly recorded bass parts by Robert DeLeo of Stone Temple Pilots, who joined Krieger and John Densmore at a tribute concert for Manzarek in 2016, three years after the organist died of cancer.

A trio of studio outtakes collected on the set’s final disc feature the much-bootlegged, hour-long jam, “Rock Is Dead,” which appears here in its entire, surviving form for the first time ever. The track finds The Doors riffing through the entire history of rock ’n’ roll, from early delta blues through surf music, ending with the death of rock.

Tell All The People (2019 Remaster)
Touch Me (2019 Remaster)
Shaman's Blues (2019 Remaster)
Do It (2019 Remaster)
Easy Ride (2019 Remaster)
Wild Child (2019 Remaster)
Runnin' Blue (2019 Remaster)
Wishful Sinful (2019 Remaster)
The Soft Parade (2019 Remaster)
Who Scared You (2019 Remaster)
Tell All the People (Doors Only Mix)
Touch Me (Doors Only Mix) (Robby Krieger Overdub)
Runnin' Blue (Doors Only Mix) (Robby Krieger Overdub)
Wishful Sinful (Doors Only Mix) (Robby Krieger Overdub)
Who Scared You (Doors Only Mix)
Roadhouse Blues (Screamin' Ray Daniels a.k.a. Ray Manzarek On Vocals)
(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further [Screamin' Ray Daniels a.k.a. Ray Manzarek On Vocals]
I'm Your Doctor (Screamin' Ray Daniels a.k.a. Ray Manzarek On Vocals)
Touch Me (Doors Only Mix)
Runnin' Blue (Doors Only Mix)
Wishful Sinful (Doors Only Mix)
I Am Troubled (2019 Remaster)
Seminary School (a.k.a. Petition the Lord with Prayer)
Rock Is Dead (Complete Version)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it